Tags

, , , , ,

I’m really happy so far with joining Apartment Therapy for an 8 week ‘home cure.’  So far I have been able to make small changes and enjoy my home space more including baking in the kitchen, sewing in the living room, and listening to music, doing yoga, and crocheting in the living room and back yard (not all at the same time!).

For this week:

Clean the kitchen, make a new recipe at the end of the week:  With two housemates and not enough space for all our food, this is a challenge.  In order to clean the kitchen, I need to find  fruit, grains, and spice storage solutions.  I’m thinking three baskets attached to our open wall for fruit, I’ve been collecting jars for grains, and not sure yet what to do about spices.  Making a recipe will be easy as I’m in the habit from the last few weeks of baking.  I made my own granola last night and have plans for pumpkin cookies this weekend!

Home made coconut and apricot granola with nuts and seeds

Home made coconut and apricot granola with nuts and seeds

Define my style, continue style tray: Happening at twine.com, my style at the moment is temporary living while enjoying what I have!  This mainly includes lovely outdoor space and lots of crafty, quiet moments.

Sunset in the backyard.  The horizon line is the fog rolling in for the evening.

Sunset in the backyard. The horizon line is the fog rolling in for the evening.

Floor Plan: I don’t think I’ll do this part as our floor plan is okay as is and I don’t plan on changing out any furniture unless I find a great sideboard/craft cupboard for the dining room.

Fresh Flowers: Easy one as there are sweet peas blooming in the front and they smell heavenly!  I also have a small arrangement of fall leaves and acorns at the dining table.

Celebrating fall's finds with a sample piece of my own crochet.

Celebrating fall's finds paired with a sample piece of my own crochet.

Still to do:

Clean one surface, put extra things in the outbox: This will be the couch in my bedroom!  It currently holds clean laundry, two dresses for the dry cleaners, my meditation cushion, winter hats, a wooden tray of ‘important’ things, and several sewing projects.  I would like my couch to be both meditative and a bit of a crafty space.  It’s also what I see from my bed, so it’s nice if it feels relaxing and is integrated into the rest of my bedroom.  I would like to add my staghorn fern and a few prints, perhaps re-arrange the shelf above and create a lighting solution.

Fix one thing: I think this will be our teak rockers.  They need oil and the seats replaced.  It’s one more way to enjoy the backyard ocean view!

Last Week’s Post (week 1)

